You are here:

Committee details

Licensing Act 2003 and Gambling Committee

Purpose of committee

The terms of reference for the Licensing Act 2003 and Gambling Committee are set out in Part 7 of the Council’s Constitution, located in the Library section of this website.  The Licensing Act 2003 and Gambling Committee is formed of three or more councillors drawn from the membership of the Licensing (General) Committee, and may change from meeting to meeting. 


Purpose of the Licensing Act 2003 and Gambling Committee

The Committee is established under section 6 of the 2003 Act to discharge the Council’s licensing functions under the 2003 and 2005 Act.


The Committee, or a Sub-Committee to which it has delegated authority to take decisions, will determine the following, where relevant to the Licensing Act 2003 and associated legislation:

·         Personal licence applications where:

o   a relevant objection is made; or

o   the applicant has unspent convictions.


·         Premises licence applications where:

o   a relevant representation is received in respect of:

§  premises licences;

§  club premises certificates;

§  provisional statements;

§  variation to premises licences;

§  variation to club premises licences.

§  permits for unlicensed family entertainment centre

§  prize gaming permits

§  alcohol licensed premises gaming machine permits (where applications have been received for five or more such machines)

§  club gaming machine permits

§  temporary use notices

§  small society lotteries registration


o   the police have made recommendations opposing an application:

§  to vary designated premises supervisor;

§  for transfer of premises licences;

§  for interim authorities.


·         Applications to review premises licences and/or club premises certificates and cancellation of club gaming/machine permits.


·         The consideration of police objections to temporary event notice.


·         The decision to give a counter notice to a temporary use notice under the 2005 Act.


Contact information

Support officer: Democratic Services Officer. 020 8496 4204 Email:

Postal address:
Waltham Forest Town Hall
Forest Road
E17 4JF

Phone: 020 8496 4204